How many states are in the South East region of Nigeria?

… speaking, the south eastern region of Nigeria is comprised of five states namely, Imo, Anambra, Abia, Enugu and Ebonyi States (Figure 1).

How many states are there in South East?

South East (5 states): Enugu, Imo, Ebonyi, Abia and Anambra. South South (6 states): Bayelsa, Akwa Ibom, Edo, Rivers, Cross River and Delta.

How many states are in eastern Nigeria?

The region was officially divided in 1967 into three new states, the East-Central State, South-Eastern State. East-Central State had its capital at Enugu, which is now part of Enugu State.

Eastern Region, Nigeria.

Eastern Region
Country Nigeria
Autonomized 1 October 1954
Dissolved 27 May 1967
Capital Enugu

Which states are in South South Nigeria?

South South Nigeria is a region of Nigeria composed of the following states: Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross River, Delta, Edo, and Rivers.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Who was the vice president of the Fourth Republic of Ghana?

How many states are in the South East geopolitical zone in Nigeria?

South East of Nigeria is one of the six geopolitical zones in the country. The region consists of the following states; Abia. Anambra.

Who divided Nigeria into 36 states?

In 1991, Nigeria had the total number of thirty states. In 1996, General San Abacha came to power. He managed to create six more states, which gives us a current number of 36 states.

How many states are in South South Nigeria?

The South South region of Nigeria comprises of six states and is strategically located at the point where the Y tail of the river Niger joins the Atlantic Ocean through the Gulf of Guinea.

Which state is the richest in Nigeria?

Lagos State. Lagos state is the richest state in Nigeria, it was founded on 27th May 1967 and was the then Federal Capital Territory for the colonial administrators. Lagos also served as a major financial center as it is Nigeria’s largest urban area.

How many states are in western Nigeria?

The region now consist of nine states, across three geopolitical zones: Delta, Edo, Ekiti, Kwara, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, and Oyo States.

What is the most developed state in Nigeria?

Lagos State, the commercial capital of Nigeria, and the Centre of Excellence, is the most developed State in Nigeria.

Which tribe is South in Nigeria?

Also referred to as the Edo tribe, the Bini people (derived from Benin), can be found in Edo State in the south of Nigeria, although they can also be found spread across the Delta, Ondo, and Rivers states. They are descendants of the Benin Empire and speak Edo language, including several other dialects.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: Is Ghana bigger than California?

Which states are South West in Nigeria?

South West Nigeria is one of the geopolitical zones of Nigeria, consisting of the following states;

  • Ekiti.
  • Lagos.
  • Ogun.
  • Ondo.
  • Osun.
  • Oyo.

How many states are in the South?

The region spreads over an area of 635,780 Sq Km and comprises the states of Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, and Puducherry. It also covers the verdant Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Karnataka is a coastal belt rich with Hindu traditions and natural beauty.

Which is the biggest state in South East Nigeria?

List of Nigerian states by area

Rank State km²
1 Niger State 76,363
2 Borno State 70,898
3 Taraba State 54,473
5 Kaduna State 46,053

How many states are in northeast Nigeria?

At the start of the conflict in 2009, non-state armed groups (NSAGs) targeted all six states in the north-east region, with Borno becoming the worst-affected State and epicenter of the humanitarian crisis that has now entered its tenth year.

What are the 19 northern states in Nigeria?

Currently, Northern Nigeria has nineteen states, which are:

  • Benue state.
  • Borno state.
  • Bauchi state.
  • Kano state.
  • Katsina state.
  • Plateau state.
  • Taraba state.
  • Niger state.
Hot Africa