How many local government wards are in Nigeria?

Nigeria has 774 local government areas (LGAs), each being administered by a local government council consisting of a Chairman, who is the chief executive, and other elected members referred to as Councillors. Each LGA is further subdivided into a minimum of 10 and a maximum of 20 Wards.

Which local government has the highest ward in Nigeria?

Igabi is a Local Government Area (LGA) of Kaduna State, Nigeria. It is one of 774 local government areas in Nigeria. Rigasa ward is under Igabi LGA, one of the largest ward in terms of population in Nigeria.

Time zone UTC+1 (WAT)

How many local government Councillors do we have in Nigeria?

Nigeria has 774 Local Governments Areas (LGA). Each LGA is administered by a Local Government Council. The Council comprises of the Chairman who is the Chief Executive of the LGA, and other elected members referred to as Councillors. The role of the councillor is a legislative one.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How are Muslims in Uganda?

What are the 18 local government?

There are 18 Local Government Areas (LGAs): Akoko-Edo, Etsako East, Etsako Central, Etsako West, Owan West, Esan North-East, Esan Central, Esan South-east are in the Derived Savanna; Ovia South-West, Ovia North-East, Igueben, Egor, Uhunmwonde, Oredo, Ikpoba-Okha, Orhionmwon are in the lowland rainforest, four LGAs ( …

Which ward is the largest ward in Nigeria?

In population and land mass, it is larger than most local government areas in Nigeria and roughly, over a million people live there. Yet, Rigasa is just a ward, the largest in the country, in Igabi local government area of the state.

Who divided Nigeria into 36 states?

In 1991, Nigeria had the total number of thirty states. In 1996, General San Abacha came to power. He managed to create six more states, which gives us a current number of 36 states.

Which state has the smallest local government in Nigeria?

Abia state has 17 Local Government Areas, after being carved out of the former Imo State in 1991. The state now has a population of 2,833,999. The name “Abia” is an abbreviation of four of the state’s densely populated regions Aba, Bende, Isuikwuato, and Afikpo.

Which is the lowest court in Nigeria?

The lowest courts in the country are all state courts (there is no federal court in this group). They include (i) the Magistrate Courts that handle English law cases (ii) the Customary Courts that handle Customary law cases and (iii) the Sharia Courts that handle Sharia law cases.

Who is the first woman that drive car in Nigeria?

Ransome Kuti, Fela Anikulapo-Kuti’s father bought a car later in the 1910s and it is also recorded his wife, Iyalode of Abeokuta, Mrs Funmilayo Ransome Kuti was the first FEMALE to drive a car in Nigeria.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Does Kindle work in Nigeria?

Who is called Councillor?

A Municipal Councillor is an elected representative of a ward. He is also known as Ward Councillor.

Is Edo Yoruba or Igbo?

Benin Kingdom in Edo is Yoruba territory — Ooni of Ife, Adeyeye Ogunwusi | Premium Times Nigeria.

Who is the head of local government?

These local government are ruled by local leaders and the Mayor is the supreme of each local government which is elected every 5 (Five) year by local public.

How many ward do we have in Nigeria?

Map of Nigeria showing 3 states, 18 local government areas and 89 wards…

How many senators do we have in Nigeria?

Senate of Nigeria

Deputy President of the Senate Ovie Omo-Agege, APC since June 11, 2019
Seats 109
Political groups All Progressives Congress (68) People’s Democratic Party (40) Young Progressives Party (1)

Why is 13th of February 1976 significant in the history of Nigeria?

The 1976 Nigerian coup d’état attempt was a military coup attempt which took place in Nigeria on 13 February 1976 when a faction of Armed Forces officers, led by Lieutenant Colonel Buka Suka Dimka, attempted to overthrow the government of General Murtala Mohammed (who himself took power in the 1975 coup d’état).

How many states are in Nigeria?

Nigeria is a federal republic of 36 states and a federal capital territory, with a population of about 150 million.

Hot Africa