What are the 5 special courts in South Africa?

How many types of courts are there in South Africa?

South Africa includes ten provincial High Courts and three local High Courts. Each of these presides over a different jurisdiction.

What are the four major courts in South Africa?

The South African Judicial System

  • the Constitutional Court;
  • the Supreme Court of Appeal;
  • the High Courts, including any high court of appeal that may be established by an Act of Parliament to hear appeals from High Courts;
  • the Magistrates’ Courts; and.

How many supreme courts are there in South Africa?

Supreme Court of Appeal (South Africa)

Supreme Court of Appeal
Authorized by Chapter 8 of the Constitution; Superior Courts Act, 2013
Appeals to Constitutional Court
Number of positions 22
Website www.supremecourtofappeal.org.za

Which court is the most powerful in South Africa?

The Constitutional Court of South Africa is a supreme constitutional court established by the Constitution of South Africa, and is the apex court in the South African judicial system, with general jurisdiction.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What animals are African wild dogs related to?

What are 2 types of court cases?

Types of Court Cases

  • Criminal Cases.
  • Civil Cases.

What are the four types of courts?

Learn more about the different types of federal courts.

  • Supreme Court. The Supreme Court is the highest court in the United States. …
  • Courts of Appeals. There are 13 appellate courts that sit below the U.S. Supreme Court, and they are called the U.S. Courts of Appeals. …
  • District Courts. …
  • Bankruptcy Courts. …
  • Article I Courts.

What are the main sources of law in South Africa?

The sources of South African law are:

  • the Constitution – the supreme law of the country (s 2 of the Constitution)
  • legislation (acts of the national and provincial legislatures, and governmental regulations)
  • common law.
  • judicial precedent.
  • customary / indigenous law. …
  • Religious personal laws.
  • international law.

South Africa has a ‘hybrid’ or ‘mixed’ legal system, formed by the interweaving of a number of distinct legal traditions: a civil law system inherited from the Dutch, a common law system inherited from the British, and a customary law system inherited from indigenous Africans (often termed African Customary Law, of …

What is a judge called in South Africa?

The court has eleven judges; originally the chief judge was called the President of the Constitutional Court, but that title was changed to Chief Justice of South Africa by the Sixth Amendment to the Constitution.

What is the supreme law of South Africa?

The Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, was approved by the Constitutional Court (CC) on 4 December 1996 and took effect on 4 February 1997. The Constitution is the supreme law of the land. No other law or government action can supersede the provisions of the Constitution.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: What are the two main causes of deforestation in Africa?

Is there a supreme court in South Africa?

The Supreme Court of South Africa was dissolved in 1997 when the current Constitution of South Africa came into force. … The SCA is no longer the highest court because it is subordinate to the jurisdiction of the Constitutional Court.

Is South African justice system fair?

Nhlakanipho Nkosi, a student at Durban University of Technology said that the Justice System in South Africa has never been fair as it favors the wealthy. … “It’s not only justice system but the entire constitution that is a crap. Many criminals commit crime and get away with it,” said Mthembu.

Who is the youngest judge in South Africa?

In 1999, Justice Theron was appointed as a Judge of the High Court of South Africa. At the age of 32, she was the youngest judge in the country and the first black female judge to be appointed in her province.

What do judges earn in South Africa?

Such future-proofing is curious as judges get paid for life – that’s currently an average R1. 8-million annual income for a high court judge, up to R2. 8-million for the chief justice.

What is the order of courts from highest to lowest?

The federal court system has three main levels: district courts (the trial court), circuit courts which are the first level of appeal, and the Supreme Court of the United States, the final level of appeal in the federal system.

Hot Africa