9.9 C
New York
December 14, 2019
The Republic
  • Home
  • News
  • Goosie Tanoh picks nomination form to contest NDC flagbearer race
News Politics

Goosie Tanoh picks nomination form to contest NDC flagbearer race


Mr. Ogustus Goosie Tanoh, flagbearer hopeful of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), has finally picked his nomination form to officially announce his readiness to battle anyone contesting him in the party’s upcoming presidential primaries.

This came after an intervention by the party’s Council of Elders which led to an extension of the deadline December 8, 2018 for picking of the nomination forms.

Mr. Goosie Tanoh and five other aspirants – Dr. Ekwow Spio-Gabral, Kojo Bonsu, Nurudeen Iddrissu, and Elikplim Agbemava could not meet the ealier deadline, Tuesday December 4, 2018.

This was because they protested the announced filing fee of GHS 400,000, and had petitioned the party’s Council of Elders to intervene.

The Council of Elders caused the fee to be reduced by Ghc 100,000, making it Ghc 300,000 , but maintained the fee for the nomination form at Ghc20,000.

The Council also pushed for the primaries to be held on January 26, instead of the initial January 19, 2019 date, and pushed nomination deadline to Saturday December 8, 2018 to allow for aspirants who could not pick their forms more time to do so.

Ane Court Branch chairman, Parakuo Estate, Sakumonor, Eric William, who led the team that picked up Mr. Tanoh’s aet of form said, “the game has really started and it tells you that we are really in the race and we are serious about it and we believe that on the day of the election, things are going to favour us and we are asking all of you to support us.”

Mr. Goosie Tanoh is sure of his chances of leading the opposition NDC into the 2020 elections to snatch power for the party.

Some of his followers complained of some form of unacceptable attitudes by some of the Greater Accra Regional executives towards Mr. Goosie.

To this effect, they cautioned that if they did not see any free and fair in the upcoming presidential primaries they will not accept the result.

The former President John Dramani Mahama, Prof. Joshua Alabi, Alban Bagbin, Sylvester Mensah and Stephen Atubiga have all picked up their forms when a-2-day deadline was given.
Other were Dr. Ekwow Spio-Gabral and Nurideen Iddrissu have also picked their nomination forms  bringing the number of aspirants to 8, going into January 26 party’s presidential primaries.

Source: the republic resilience.com/Delali Awuyeh

Related posts

Gov’t trying to cover up GMA Boss – Adaklu MP

Felix Nyaaba

PDS Debacle: NDC Demand Total Clean-Up Of Govt Mess In ECG

Felix Nyaaba

Going Unopposed Is A Challenge To Work Harder– NDC MP

Felix Nyaaba


Leave a Comment